100Days of Code : Day 0 & Reference Project List

Today I did:

  • Plan out the next 100 days with project ideas
  • Install Curv and make a post about it

Intro

I’m doing the #100DaysOfCode Challenge!

My main goals are to

  • Increase my knowledge on my field of research for my PhD which will be starting in January
  • Familiarise myself with a wider range of code libraries (hopefully the next time I go to a hackathon, I’ll make something really cool!)
  • Be a more productive coder by customising my workflow and making useful little tools
  • Make something that displays my skills for my portfolio

Today, I’m going to plan what to do during this challenge. Since doing various projects will generally lead me towards new ideas, I’m going to just have a list of projects I can work on.

About Projects

I’m going to list some project ideas for each of my goals. I’ll come back and refine the list of projects when I have more ideas.

PhD Research

I will generally be reading some papers then trying to implement that in some little project to try out what I’ve read so I can understand what that paper is doing. Implementation usually takes quite a bit of time, especially for the projects which require training an AI (I have a macbook… and a VR gaming computer ;D ) unless the paper has a really good github repo.

I am interested in AI: Reinforcement Learning (Communication between multiple agents), Computer Vision (3D Pose Estimation) and Human Computer/Robot interaction.

Hackathon – Make Something Cool

I usually use Unity to create a cool game in Hackathons (like VR games) or rig up something with an Arduino and Raspberry Pi. I really like projects that are useful, fun and use technology to do unexpected things.

Interesting to Learn

These would be fields that I’ve always wanted to explore or cute thing I wanted to create to make my life easier.

  • Data science visualisation
  • Libraries to make tutorial videos
    • Manim (Here is my tutorial on installing it) – I haven’t tried this out yet
  • VR Scene Design

Productive Coder

These projects will be small and quick, usually I’ll script up a tool to shorten my workflow. An example of projects like this would be Alfred scripts, trying out Emacs and learning how to use some tool (like Git) better.

Skills Portfolio

These projects would be aimed at showing my mastery of some skill, toolbox etc

Project Ideas

TODO: add time estimates to the projects so on busy days I can pick a shorter project to work on.

Research

  • Make a Unity Pet/Person/Slime Blob that I can interact with in VR
    • 3D Pose from Video
    • Audio Clone of Voice
    • Can it be a person’s face and figure from a video then a 3d model of them doing it in VR (like watching kpop dance videos)
  • Simulation of Multiple Agents Reinforcement Learning

General Topics of Interest

  • Design (I know the basic principles of UI/UX Design but would be good to learn how to make interfaces easy to use and look good)
  • Reinforcement Learning
    • Multi-robot Reinforcement Learning (I’m interested in communication between multiple robots)
    • Inverse Reinforcement Learning (Basics)
    • Distributed deep reinforcement learning
  • Computer Vision
    • GANs (2D scans to 3D models in VR)
    • 3D Human Pose Estimation
    • Sign Language (signs for non-verbal communication with robot underwater)
  • Swarm Robots / Agent Swarm Control
  • VR Simulation

Hackathon / Interesting to Learn

  • Coding Languages
    • Ruby
  • Libraries
    • Unity (in depth)
    • Unreal (more difficult to learn than Unity but requires less plugins)
    • Blender (3D Modelling, Simulation)
  • Work with APIs

Productivity

  • 100 Days of Code Challenge
    • A better logging workflow (script & fill in fields + screenshots & update github commit at end of day with log & link to commit of other git repo)
    • Prettier log which is easier to read
  • Better terminal
  • IDE / Code Editor (I use Atom now)

Portfolio

  • Build an app
    • Flutter (builds cross-platform apps in Dart)
    • iOS (I made a Swift ToDo App before)
    • Android (Built several apps before)
  • Build a website
    • UI: Learnability, Efficiency and Satisfaction of UI/UX
    • Libraries and Languages: Angular, HTML, CSS
  • VR Game
  • Various Coding Languages
    • Python
    • Java
    • C#
    • HTML
    • CSS

One thought on “100Days of Code : Day 0 & Reference Project List

Leave a comment